.

ReSale 360 Owner: We are Making Preparations to Give Back Property

Fenton Police investigating complaints of owed money, property.

Fenton Police have received more than 20 complaints about the Fenton shop, which closed its doors, but many consignors say they are owed money or their property is still inside the store.

Owner Donna Hitz said she is making preparations to give the property back, but said the process may take time. She said there are 3,300 items in the store and some consignors with hundreds of items. Hitz said she will be calling customers and allowing them into the store to pick up their merchandise. She said she is afraid for her safety and will only let a couple people in at one time. Hitz said she has received multiple threatening messages along with people threatening her outside of the store.

"I can't get into screaming matches. I'm frustrated and I'm stuck," Hitz said. "I'm really sorry. I'm losing sleep."

Hitz closed the doors to the Fenton store Sunday because of financial reasons. She said the store has been for sale for a long time and for the last five weeks she believed she had a buyer. When that deal fell through, however, she said she was forced to close the doors.

"This is a failed business. I'm broke." Hitz said.

She said if she files for bankruptcy immediately no one would be able to retrieve their property. Hitz said she wants to wait so she can safely return the items in the store to the rightful owners.

"I don't want to get hurt and I don't want to argue," Hitz said. "I want to give people their stuff back."

Chief Rick Aro said police are taking complaints and will continue to do so.

“We have talked to the store owners and they do intend to return any property still in their possession to the rightful owners,” Aro said. “They are talking to an attorney regarding financial matters. They requested police stand by and we agreed to help them out.”

Aro said officers are dealing with complaints on a case-by-case basis and determining whether it’s a civil or criminal case.

“We will continue to investigate those cases,” Aro said. “We believe a lot of them are criminal.”

Many Fenton Patch readers commented on a previous blog post about the .

Barbara Warner posted that she never received a March check for $225 and that she has another $200 worth of merchandise in the store.

"I am so disgusted. The store looks half empty, but I would like the opportunity to take back my stuff, if it is even there. Looks like it's been picked over. This was merchandise sold in the store, for which the owners received the money in January and February."

Stephanie Pytlowanyj posted, "I'm shocked. 360 seemed to be a thriving business and they even opened a store in Brighton. I hope that whatever is going on can be resolved to everyone involved."

Hitz opened store at 1022 Silver Lake Road about three years ago after being open in Holly for three years. The name of the store changed from Garage Sale 360 & Hitz Consignments to ReSale 360.

Another ReSale 360 in Brighton opened in the fall of 2011. Aro said it is the same situation with the . Hitz said she does have a buyer for the Brighton location.

stephanie pytlowanyj March 31, 2012 at 05:56 PM
But Melissa how can someone help? I'd be willing to go into the store and buy something but it's closed. I do understand Donna's hesitancy to open the store and possibly be verbally or physically assaulted. Common sense and good manners need to prevail. It's a bad situation for all involved.
stephanie pytlowanyj March 31, 2012 at 08:21 PM
Dan, I thought some things were priced high too but the handful of times I tried to sell stuff there I was asked what price did I want. 90% of the time I didn't know so the staff checked on Ebay and sold by that price. So that's my experience as a seller. Now as a buyer if I thought something was too high I would just wait until it was marked down. If someone beat me to it, oh well, that's the joy of shopping a consignment store. Donna choose, after a period of time, to sell stuff that was only in a certain condition. I still have a solid oak coffee table, in my living room, in beautiful shape and which I paid only $90.00 for at 360. Personally I think I got the better end of the deal. Perhaps Donna made a business mistake when she decided to sell high end only, who knows? I just think it's a shame this has happened and the next closest consignment shop that will have her quality of items will be the one on Miller Rd in Flint. Finally, I didn't like all of 360 practices. It seemed like their policies randomly changed which was frustrating. But if they were having fiancial trouble, in retrospect I guess it makes sense now but still, they why was the store in Brighton opened? I suspect something out of the ordinary occured and which we may just never know.
G. C. April 01, 2012 at 01:16 AM
They must have over-extended themselves financially, when they opened the 2nd store in Brighton last fall. As of Sunday (3-31) there is a handwritten sign in the door saying that people can arrainge to pick up their items, but no more than 2 people in the store at a time.
Jane Webber April 01, 2012 at 01:41 AM
Donna and Tom have always been nice to me... they were very busy people and I have seen the attitudes some shoppers in Fenton have and some of you felt like you got an attitude well maybe you deserved it... they ran a very efficient well organized store and if you thought something was overpriced you were free to look elsewhere.. I both consigned and bought there and while maybe sometimes I thought my stuff was worth more sometimes she got me more than I thought too.. they will be missed by me.
G. C. April 01, 2012 at 03:13 PM
It is bad that Tom & Donna knew that they were going out of business, yet never said a word to their customers or employees. It's scary when even the employees didn't know that this closure was comming!!!!!!
Annette Murphy April 01, 2012 at 04:31 PM
I LOVED shopping @ both stores & consigned a few items as well. I'm only owed about $27 dollars,but I'm mostly disappointed in Tom. When I asked him about rumors flying around about the store on the Friday B/4 they closed. He said that they were being spread by unhappy ex-employees & the checks had been mailed on the 20th. Mine would be out in May. They should have given consigners a heads up B/4 closing. They should have been more honest & people would have been more understanding.
Jane Webber April 01, 2012 at 10:52 PM
what part of there is a business to run don't you unbderstand... there is rent to be paid... utilities to be paid ... water bills and employees to be paid.... if they are not consigning and selling LOTS where does the money come from to PAY these bills???? explain that.....
Jane Webber April 01, 2012 at 10:56 PM
a day late AFTER the 10 days grace period..... they never got rid of my stuff before the 10 day grace period.... wasn't their policy... period and IF your Lladros were so freaking precious to you you should have been there the day your consignment was over to pick them up but you were probably "too busy" and decided to let someone else deal with them for awhile.... well they did
Jane Webber April 01, 2012 at 10:58 PM
so you were free to go shop at the stinking Walmart if those prices were more to your liking.... how many times did you enter 360????? just to complain I'm sure
stephanie pytlowanyj April 01, 2012 at 11:22 PM
Annette, you are correct, providing Tom knew for certain the store was closing on Sunday. Cristine, do you have proof to back up what you are saying? If so, please present it; otherwise your statements are just your opinions. For myself, at this point, I'd like to know the facts of what happened. Prior to this I hadn't heard any rumors or that consigners hadn't been paid. The few times I consigned things there I had no problems. It is possible that I am currently owed a small check now, leastwise that's what my daughter thinks, but that is water under the bridge if it's true. Unless there were planned intentions to defraud, I say let it go.
stephanie pytlowanyj April 01, 2012 at 11:41 PM
JAyliffe, how do you know this info? Just curious is it rumor or something that you were told by Donna or Tom?
stephanie pytlowanyj April 02, 2012 at 06:00 AM
kiddynip, what do you mean by past employees weren't working? Did 360 let some of their staff go before they closed up?
stephanie pytlowanyj April 02, 2012 at 02:16 PM
Jason, any way you could obtain copies of the police reports under FIOA. The reports would provide some much needed facts in this case.
Julie Yurek April 02, 2012 at 06:50 PM
Julieyurek: I agree with you Melissa, My husband and I used to have a hardware store that we finally had to call it quits after 10 years of throwing good money after bad. There is so much overhead in retail that most people don't realize. I'm sure the Hinz's are trying there best to do the right thing. Why are so many always ready to jump on people who are down. I loved that store, and will miss it very much. I never had a bad experience, and I was there at least once every other week. I can't believe the community of Fenton is so nasty.
Jane Webber April 02, 2012 at 08:47 PM
I personally know that if someone was a slacker or was not motivated and interested in working Donna would get on them and if they did not improve she would let them go... maybe they are some of the digruntled ex-employees who are not working there... Tom and Donna were not known to stand around and socialize... they were pretty much all business when at work and they expected their employees to be the same way.... seeing how some folks like to just occupy space for a paycheck any more makes you wonder why they are ex-employees... I know she had an employee for several years who had to move out of state to care for family and she had a real hard time finding ANY one to replace her.
HLI April 02, 2012 at 08:54 PM
I completely agree with you. Why is it that no one can remember the good things people do but only the bad? People are so quick to jump to conclusions without fully understanding what the situation is. Donna and Tom are trying their hardest to do what is best, although the situation is a sticky one. They are genuine people. These are tough times for everyone and they were doing all that they could to pay the employes and the bills. I know it is especially hard for them with a teenager at home. I've lived in Fenton for 10 years and never realized how nasty people here can get. Best wishes to everyone involved. Remember be classy, not nasty.
stephanie pytlowanyj April 03, 2012 at 12:14 AM
So everything in the store is just being left there? No more attempts to get items back to the owners? I can't speak for them but maybe they did what they did due to consignors being nasty??? I remember one time I was inside the store and a customer was giving Tom an extremely bad time. Tom listened and then told the customer he'd work with her. After she left the store I told Tom he was a better person than I; if someone had talked to me like that, along with causing such a stink in the store, I would have shown them the door, not just sit there and take the abuse. Tom just smiled. To a point, I can see both sides of the coin. If they knew they were closing for sure, they should have been factual about that. And consignors want their stuff and their money. Ultimately it's a mess for all concerned and I wouldn't want to be in anyone's shoes that is involved in the situation. And Jane, most of the employees were nice. There was only once when I was in the store that I was totally ignored, which was weird. Usually someone would tell me about the discounts, etc., And there was another time where a clerk was really rude to my daughter but other then that I didn't have any problems with the staff. These are only the situations which really stick out in my mind. I think Donna and Tom's problems started when they tried to be a high end store and what finished their business off was the expansion in Brighton. I could be wrong....
stephanie pytlowanyj April 03, 2012 at 01:12 PM
Well Chatty, you are wrong. As of Monday, April 2, Donna was at the store, returning items to former customers. It's all hear on Fenton Patch and see below: http://fenton.patch.com/articles/resale-360-owner-begins-to-return-property?ncid=newsltuspatc00000001 I get that people are upset but it doesn't help when false info is provided.
Whitney April 04, 2012 at 05:33 AM
Helen Please know that there are readers that support your opinions and your right to post them here. It seems to me that the some of the pro-posters have a close, personal involvement which prevents them from an objective opinion. The truth will come out. Sorry about your Lladros, tough lesson learned.
bill findlater April 04, 2012 at 04:03 PM
How do we retrieve money owed? Not here to stone anyone, just want my money
stephanie pytlowanyj April 04, 2012 at 04:20 PM
Bill, there is a note, on the front of the store with Donna's email address. I suggest you email her and ask.
stephanie pytlowanyj April 04, 2012 at 04:57 PM
Whitney, Yes, everyone has the right to post here, however it's not acceptable to be name calling. We are suppose to be a civilized society and how civilized is it to name call? Further, what does name calling, and being rude or hateful accomplish? With most of the accusations made here, I've asked for the proof, and guess what, nothing has surfaced. I can state that the store is closed as I have been to the store and saw the signs out front stating that. I can state that there was a small crowd out in front of the store and some of the people there were rude. A man was even rude to me b/c I didn't jump on the bandwagon to crucify Donna Hitz. I can state that a women from the salon next door came out and spoke to a few people outside of 360 gleefully encouraging them to go to the police station to file a complaint. This is the same woman that has posted here regarding furniture she wanted to buy at 360 for her daughter. This women appears to be encouraging action for no reason but out of sour grapes. I can also state that the Fenton police spoke to this small crowd in front of the store. What Officer Cross stated is that the owner is making the effort to get items and money back to the consignors. What Officer C Femester stated is that Donna has received serious threats. The above are the facts that I am aware of. For those that are persecuting Donna perhaps you need to be prosecuted too for your threatening, bad behavior. No one knows the full story, yet.
Jane Webber April 04, 2012 at 05:39 PM
Bill be patient... Donna is an upstanding woman... she will do her best to get you your money.... but you have to give her a chance to do right by you... she has said she is broke so be patient and not mean and nasty.... you catch more flies with honey than vinegar.... do unto others as you would like done unto yourself....
stephanie pytlowanyj April 05, 2012 at 02:55 AM
Bill, did you take the $74 or hold out for the $108?
J. Elle Cartwright April 06, 2012 at 11:22 PM
WOW! I was so surprised to see the store had closed, I used my 'puter to try to find out why. Such negativity! Yes, the people who are owed $$ have a right to be angry. As to thinking the prices are too high? Really simply put: shop somewhere else instead of complaining you think it is priced too high.The person who wrote about all the hidden costs of running a business--especially one with employees--was correct. I have purchased AND sold many items from the Hitzes' store in Fenton. I was always treated fairly AND courteously, not only by Donna and Tom, but also the employees. Body language and attitude speak volumes. Anyone who knows me knows I would not hesitate to 'give it right back' to someone I found rude or obnoxious. Donna was more direct than Tom, but never rude! They always were friendly, and ALWAYS greeted me, immediately if they saw me enter the store. The consignors surely would have appreciated an earlier heads up that the business was going under. It's too bad that so many of us are so-o-o-o-o quick to judge before we know all the facts. I hope people get their $$ and merchandise returned. Limit your risk in the future by (a) reviewing your contract carefully BEFORE signing; (b) photographing each item you take, dating it, and having company rep sign by each item that it was received. If your items haven't sold within 3 weeks, remove them from the list AND the store. Pay a visit to the store one week following date checks should have been issued. Good luck!
Jane Webber April 07, 2012 at 03:48 AM
MH where was the third address that they had a resale /consignment store at???? I know of 2 and I was there when both opened... you state you were a consigner but were you EVER a buyer???? did you help out this local business in any way or did you just expect them to do ALL the work and sell your stuff.... and they only slightly MODIFIED their name... probably like you did if you were married.... still the same person... slightly different name.... they didn't try to "HIDE" so why the comment about the 3 addresses and 2 different names.... you have a real problem and I am just sorry I cannot tell you what it is in this public forum...
stephanie pytlowanyj April 07, 2012 at 04:42 AM
Jane, the first store was a Holly location. I went there once and it wasn't my cup of tea. Then the store was moved to Silver Lake Rd, next to Fenton Storage. The final move was across the street where it's now located. Out of all 3 locations the current was the best.
Jane Webber April 07, 2012 at 12:31 PM
Right... I know about the Holly store ...BUT that was NOT a consignment store..... that was a store where she was buying storage units and large lots say from estate sales and selling them so that was 100% her money.... folks need to get their facts straight before spouting off.... everyone is soooooo vindictive without wanting to give someone a chance or be understanding at all.... all these "perfect" people make me ill.... I understand they all want their things back but will screaming, banging on the windows and acting like toddlers get them back any faster or garner them any sort of respect???? everything any more is ME, ME, ME and it's sickening... she could have just filed bankruptcy and said screw everyone and no one would have gotten any thing.... and then left town.... sounds like it might have been the better way to go the way she has been treated....
Jane Webber April 07, 2012 at 06:26 PM
MH I consigned LOTS of stuff there when they first opened... everything I had to get rid of and then some.... I have nothing left to get rid of..... most of my stuff was consigned when they were across the street.... and I shall say it again... the Holly store was NOT a consignment store..... and I purchased some stuff too.... I have a fairly small house so I didn't need much and I'm not into decorating much.... I purchased stuff from all 3 of her stores..... I understand everyones dissapointment but I think some understanding and patience is in order.
Layla February 01, 2013 at 07:14 AM
Rude is putting it kindly. Sketchy business practices as well. Untruthful about metal contents of NEW jewelry which is illegal as well as unscrupulous! Epic fail and I can honestly say as a family that had a shop 6+ times that size that with all merchandise on consignment and what they may have sold off online they should have had no problem staying in business. My guess is their rudeness drove people away. I stopped recommending them after their extreme rudeness directed at me for no apparent reason.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something